TIME CHANGE 2021-Daylight Saving Time

When does the daylight saving time start in Greece this year?

Greece, as most of Europe, sets the clocks forward one hour on Sunday, March 28, 2021 (last Sunday of March), when Daylight Saving Time (DST) starts. Greece and most countries in Europe spring forward one hour at 03:00 am, it means clocks will show 04:00 am. Local time for the change is different in each time zone. Sunrise and sunset will be about 1 hour later on 28 March 2021 than the day before which means there will be more light in the evening.  European countries synchronize their DST, which starts on the last Sunday of March and ends on the last Sunday of October. Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Iceland, Russia, and Turkey don't use DST any more but remain on standard time all year. In 2016, Turkey decided to end DST permanently.

In September 2018, the European Commission issued a draft directive to permanently scrap DST in the EU. In a public survey, more than 80% of 4.6 million respondents voted to put an end to seasonal clock changes altogether, but the EU Member States called for more time before putting an end to the practice. On 4 March 2019, the European Parliament Transport and Tourism Committee approved the Commission's proposal by 23 votes to 11. The start date is however postponed until 2021 and the Commission must ensure that countries' decisions to retain winter or summer time are coordinated and do not disrupt the internal market. The European Parliament plenary in Strasbourg has decided to abolish the change of time to summer and winter time since the last Sunday of October 2021. Countries have a margin until April 2021 to decide which time they will keep permanent!